Blake Prize

Blake Prize & Blake Poetry Prize

You are here:  Home » about » The Blake Poetry Prize


The Blake Poetry Prize

Like the Blake art prizes, poets are challenged to explore the religious and spiritual in poetry. First held in 2008, the Blake Poetry Prize encourages Australian poets to engage in the dialogue between religion, spirituality and poetry.

The Prize is undertaken in partnership with the New South Wales Writers’ Centre.  The Prize is also made possible by the support of Leichhardt Municipal Council, which has a strong commitment to supporting the arts.

The 2013 shortlisted poets are:

Almost Pause/Pareidolia by Amanda Joy
Appellations by Anthony Lawrence
Ars Moriendi by Chloe Wilson
Grand Final by Jennifer Harrison
Nocturne by Anthony Lawrence
Prayer: Quick & Dirty by Lizz Murphy
River Lines by Ross Gillett
The Pines by Anthony Lawrence
The Quality of Light by Christine Paice

The poems can be read in full here.

Congratulations to all Poets!

The winning poem will be announced on 17 October, 2013



Modified by Stefanie Lewis on September 19, 2013