Blake Prize

Blake Prize & Blake Poetry Prize

You are here:  Home » about » The Blake Prize


The Blake Prize

Since its inception in 1951, The Blake Prize has stimulated a fascinating dialogue between art and religion in all its manifestations in Australia. the Prize is named after the legendary British artist and poet William Blake (1757-1827) whose broad range of artistic and poetic innovations, visionary imagination and radical politics made him an outsider in his day.

The Prize was instigated by Jesuit priest, Michael Scott and a Jewish businessman, Richard Morley. They hoped that the establishment of a prize would encourage artists of disparate styles and religious allegiances to create significant works of art with religious content.

In difference to art prizes that are awarded for distinct subject areas such as landscape or portraiture, the Blake has always invited a much more open, personal and idiosyncratic response, so much so that it has earned the criticism, ire and sometimes applause of critics and the public alike. After all, what is religious or spiritual art?

There are three award categories:

  1. The Blake Prize valued at $25,000
  2. The John Coburn Emerging Artist Award – valued at $5,000
  3. The MUA Blake Prize for Human Justice – valued at $5,000


Related Files


Modified by Stefanie Lewis on July 09, 2013